Over the years, a number of laws have been enacted to help achieve the above-mentioned objectives of the Department. The regulatory framework consists of the following major Acts:
Sr. No. Name of Act.
1 Maharashtra University Act 1994.
2 Maharashtra Non-Agricultural Universities and Affiliated Colleges Standard Code ( Terms and Conditions of non-teaching Employees) Rule 1984.
3 The Maharashtra Educational Institutions (Management) Act 1976.
4 The Maharashtra Educational Institutions ( Prohibition of Capitation Fee) Act 1987 ( Amendment ) Act 1996.
5 The Maharashtra Fire Prevention and Life Safety measure Act 2006.
6 Maharashtra Prohibition of ragging Act 1999.
7 Maharashtra Prevention of Malpractices a University Board and other specified examination ordinance 1982.
8 Right to Information Act 2005
9 Sc, ST, VJNT, OBC, SBC issuance caste Certificate and verification Regulation Act 2000.
10 The Persons with disabilities ( Equal opportunities of rights and full participation) Act 1995.
11 Post Recruitment (Ministerial) examination, Department of Education and the qualifying examination (supervisory posts) Department of Education ( First amendment) rule 1999.
12 Scheduled castes and The Scheduled Tribes ( Prevention of Atrocities) act 1989.
13 Maharashtra State Public Service ( Scheduled Caste, Tribe, Vimukta Jati, Nomadic Tribes, SBC and OBC reservation) Act 2001 – implementation date from 29 January 2004.
14 Cigarettes and other tobacco products ( Provision of advertisement and regulations of trade and commerce production supply and distribution) Act 2003.
15 The Maharashtra Govt. Servant's regulation of transfers and prevention of delaying the discharge of official duties Act 2005.
16 Maharashtra Civil Services ( a) General Conditions of Services; b) Pay; c) Joining Time Foreign services and payments during suspension dismissal and removal; d) leave; e) Pension; f) Honoraria, Fees, Compensatory local and House rent allowances; g) Occupation of govt. residences; h) Travelling allowance; i)Discipline and appeal); j)Conduct Rule 1979.
17 UGC regulations.